Lord Bates announces public consultation on Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse

Last week my report, Living on a Railway Line, was released recommending Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse in certain circumstances: http://goo.gl/b8vRwU

Over the last week I’ve had many people contact me about my recommendations including some members of the House of Lords and a variety of other people both from the UK and abroad. It has been really great to be able to discuss and debate my Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Fellowship report recommendations with so many different people.

Yesterday there was a debate in Parliament and a number of members of the House spoke in favour of Mandatory Reporting during discussions surrounding the Serious Crime Bill: http://goo.gl/ANFXU8

During the debate, Lord Bates, Home Office Minister, announced that there will be a full 12 week public consultation starting shortly: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-29811206

Whilst this is just a first step, I’ll be making sure as best I can that the recommendations I have made in my report can be fed into the consultation as soon as it is released.

It sounds like it might be a busy few weeks!

Leave a Reply

